Europe looking to tie the series as tenpin giants set to clash

Europe looking to tie the series as tenpin giants set to clash

September 2nd, 2015

FOLLOWING LAST YEAR’S epic nail-biting finish where Europe snatched victory in the final few pins of the deciding game, the giants of European and American tenpin bowling will be reconvening next month to contest the 16th annual Weber Cup.

Taking place at the Metrodome in Barnsley from Friday to Sunday 16th to 18th October, a win for Europe would tie the overall Weber Cup score at 8-8. There is one change to last year’s victorious side as Mika Koivuniemi steps down as his career moves in the direct of coaching. He is replaced by former captain Osku Palermaa (Finland) who last played in 2012.

Captaining the side is England’s Dom Barrett and he will be once again joined by PBA star Stuart Williams and Sweden’s Martin Larsen.

The Americans also have one change to their line-up as they look to reverse a run of two European Weber Cup victories. Chris Barnes is back to captain the side in what will be his tenth appearance in the event.

The team also includes Weber Cup 300 man Tommy Jones, who also makes his tenth appearance and former PBA Rookie of the Year Bill O’Neill. The new kid on the block is 52 year-old PBA legend Parker Bohn III who makes his debut in the competition.

The Teams

Dominic Barrett (England) – 7 appearances, 4 wins
Osku Palermaa (Finland) – 6 appearances, 2 wins
Stuart Williams (England) – 4 appearances, 3 wins
Martin Larsen (Sweden) – 3 appearances, 3 wins

Chris Barnes (Texas) – 9 appearances, 5 wins
Tommy Jones (South Carolina) – 9 appearances, 5 wins
Bill O’Neill (Pennsylvania) – 4 appearances, 2 wins
Parker Bohn III (New Jersey) – Debut

The Weber Cup is the tenpin bowling version of golf’s Ryder Cup as two four-man teams from Europe and the USA compete over three days in a series of singles, doubles and baker format matches.

The Weber Cup will be staged over five sessions – 7.00pm Friday and 1.00pm and 6.00pm on Saturday and Sunday. The tournament will be produced by Matchroom Sport television and broadcast live on Sky Sports and as 16 x one hour programmes for international syndication.