Thursday 23 October 2014

Weber Cup XIV - Barnsley Metrodrome, England - October 11 - 13, 2013

Europe takes Weber after miracle comeback

Europe 17 – 16 USA

Martin Larsen 278-269 Chris Barnes
Stuart Williams 227-180 Bill O’Neill
Mika Koivuniemi 213-173 Tommy Jones
Martin Larsen 246-260 Chris Barnes
Dominic Barrett 233-208 Wes Malott
Mika Koivuniemi 203-196 Tommy Jones
Stuart Williams 266-236 Bill O’Neill
Mika Koivuniemi 227-237 Wes Malott
Baker – Europe 242-220 USA

EUROPE HAS won the 2015 Weber Cup after mounting an astonishing comeback on the final day of the annual transatlantic tenpin clash at the Metrodome in Barnsley. The match went down to the final game after the two sides had both enjoyed stunning highs and lows on a final day packed with memorable drama.

The Europeans had trailed by four points going into the Sunday evening session as the Americans, who had lead from the opening game, needed just three points to regain the title. However, they swept seven out of the nine matches to steal the coveted title 17-16.

With Europe one away from victory, the penultimate match featured the two captains selecting their opponents player and it was debutante Wes Malott who delivered a stellar performance as he came back to steal the point in the death and take it to a Baker decider.

The tension was gripping as both teams entered the arena knowing that the slightest mistake could hand the Weber Cup to their opponents. Both teams stayed in it and when Tommy Jones struck in the eighth frame it looked on for the Americans.

An 8/10 split in the ninth frame though, from Chris Barnes left USA hopes heading for the gutter and it was Dominic Barrett who delivered the hammer blow as he struck in the tenth for a glorious comeback victory.

The jubilant European captain, Mika Koivuniemi said, “I can’t really find the words for this. It was unbelievable last year and this is an even bigger win. I don’t know how we did it, we came back and all four guys threw great shots when they needed to at the end.

[read more]

Team Europe

Martin Larsen
[click for profile]

Stuart Williams
[click for profile]

Mika Koivuniemi
[click for profile]

Dominic Barrett
[click for profile]

Team USA

Tommy Jones
[click for profile]

Chris Barnes
[click for profile]

Wes Malott
[click for profile]

Bill O'Neill
[click for profile]